BOOKS

Screen Shot 2022-01-13 at 9.44.29 AM.png

God Isn't Here Today
 

2022

Short Fiction
Invisible Publishing

For fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joyce Carol Oates, and Karen Russell, the stories in Francine Cunningham’s debut collection God Isn’t Here Today ricochet between form and genre, taking readers on a dark, irreverent, yet poignant journey led by a unique and powerful new voice.

    Driven by desperation into moments of transformation, Cunningham’s characters are presented with moments of choice—some for the better and some for the worse. A young man goes to God’s office downtown for advice; a woman discovers she is the last human on Earth; an ice cream vendor is driven insane by his truck’s song; an ageing stripper uses undergarments to enact her escape plan; an incubus tires of his professional grind; and a young woman inherits a power that has survived genocide, but comes with a burden of its own.

 

    Even as they flirt with the fantastic, Cunningham’s stories unfold with the innate elegance of a spring fern, reminding us of the inherent dualities in human nature—and that redemption can arise where we least expect it.

“This is a fierce collection: fiercely smart, fiercely funny, fiercely inventive. Francine Cunningham takes the reader from strip clubs to God’s waiting room, from a tormented ice cream truck driver to a bored ghost with career aspirations. This collection almost reads like a novel, as the characters move in and out of each other’s stories—sometimes solo, sometimes in chorus—spilling out their tormented, glorious, messy lives to the lucky, greedy reader.”

—Annabel Lyon, author of Consent

ON/Me 

By Francine Cunningham

2019

Poetry

Caitlin Press

Screen Shot 2019-10-08 at 4.15.24 PM.png
9781773860169_OnMe_awardsRGB.jpg

Francine Cunningham lives with constant reminders that she doesn’t fit the desired expectations of the world: she is a white-passing, city-raised Indigenous woman with mental illness who has lost her mother.

In her debut poetry collection ON/Me, Cunningham explores, with keen attention and poise, what it means to be forced to exist within the margins. Cunningham does not hold back: she holds a lens to residential schools, intergenerational trauma, Indigenous Peoples forcibly sent to sanatoriums, systemic racism and mental illness, and translates these topics into lived experiences that are nuanced, emotional, funny and heartbreaking all at once. ON/Me is an encyclopedia of Cunningham, who shares some of her most sacred moments with the hope to spark a conversation that needs to be had.

Finalist: 

BC and Yukon Book Prize for The Jim Deva Prize for Writing that Provokes. 

Indigenous Voices Award for a poetry book in English

The City of Vancouver Book Award 2021

Green Nature

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING

Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 3.55.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 4.26.03 PM.png

Readers Digest

Screen Shot 2021-07-14 at 3.54.15 PM.png

Breathing Space Creative

Say Magazine